All States ~ Sales and Use Tax: Webinar: Manufacturers: Sales and Use Tax Issues

first_imgCCH Tax Day ReportWolters Kluwer is hosting a live two-hour webinar, Manufacturers: Sales and Use Tax Issues, on Wednesday, September 28, 2016, at 1 p.m. Eastern; noon Central; 11 a.m. Mountain; 10 a.m. Pacific. Led by Michigan-based state and local tax practitioner Michael Bannasch, CPA, M.S.T., this insightful session will explore the complex issues and problems that sales and use taxes pose for manufacturers doing business in a multistate or single state tax environment. You will receive practical tips and insights from a veteran practitioner to help you handle some of the vexing sales and use tax problems encountered by manufacturers. Time will be provided for you to ask questions to our presenter during the presentation.Program topics include the following:– Theoretical concept of sales/use tax input exemptions– States that are more liberal or more restrictive with their manufacturing exemptions– When the manufacturing process begins and ends– Exemptions for raw materials– Exemptions for equipment, supplies and consumables– Exemptions for utilities consumed by a manufacturer– Whether the exemption can extend to vendors/suppliers doing business with the manufacturer– Audit trendsThe learning objectives include the following:– Apply specific sales and use tax issues to taxpayers in the manufacturing industry– Describe special situations and areas that can potentially trigger problems– Identify potential opportunities manufacturers can consider to reduce sales and use tax liabilitiesRegistration can be completed online at http://www.cchwebinars.com or by calling 1-800-775-7654. The fee is $129 for a single user. Each registered user for this webinar also receives a complimentary issue of CCH’s Journal of State Taxation in electronic format.last_img read more

Man runs away from fiery Cooper County motorcycle crash

first_imgCooper County authorities are looking for the man who ran from a fiery motorcycle crash near Interstate 70.They say he wrecked his bike on a ramp near the Wooldridge exit (MM 111) a little east of Boonville at about 2 p.m. Sunday. He then ran north of the interstate.The sheriff’s office says to keep an eye out for a white guy who may be missing a shoe. Call 660-882-2771 if you see him.last_img